Keep on Trumpin’

Donald Trump recently acknowledged that he was responsible for the phrase ‘priming the pump’. While it’s not always acknowledged, the President has enriched the English language in ways so profound it’s almost impossible to fully gauge his impact. He’s given us uniquely vivid ways in which to express hope and despair, sorrow and rage, love and lust. And even if you think he’s a short-finger vulgarian, you’re likely to have quoted him unwittingly. It’s almost impossible to avoid. Here are a few examples:

  1. Show me the money!

  2. I am Who am.

  3. When you’re in a Slump, you’re not in for much fun. Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.

  4. The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind.

  5. Keep calm and carry on.

  6. Neither a borrower nor a lender be.

  7. Hang in there, baby.

  8. Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, and the soul of soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people.

  9. All we have to fear is fear itself.

  10. Here’s looking at you, kid.

  11. Greed is good.

  12. Beware that, when fighting monsters, you yourself do not become a monster… for when you gaze long into the abyss. The abyss gazes also into you.

  13. Only you can prevent forest fires.

  14. And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.

  15. Keep on truckin’.KeepOnTrumpin

  16. If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.

  17. There’s a sucker born every minute.

  18. And they lived happily ever after.

  19. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.

  20. A mind is a terrible thing to waste.

  21. It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done.

  22. Say hello to my little friend.

  23. I got my mind on my money and my money on my mind.

  24. The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  25. I was a Flower of the mountain yes when I put the rose in my hair like the Andalusian girls used or shall I wear a red yes and how he kissed me under the Moorish wall and I thought well as well him as another… then he asked me would I yes to say yes my mountain flower and first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down to me so he could feel my breasts all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will Yes.

Leave a Reply

