A Face and a Crowd: Trump wants Debates without Moderators or Hillary

What do you call a debate with no moderator and no opponent? Donald Trump’s dream.

Yesterday, Trump floated a new idea for his upcoming debates, proposing a debate without a moderator or an opponent to avoid a “very unfair” showdown because other people would go “really hard” against him following Matt Lauer’s performance in NBC News’ commander in chief forum last week.

Lauer was panned for aggressively questioning Clinton over her use of a private email server during her tenure as secretary of state while seemingly giving Trump a pass, allowing his false assertion that he never supported the Iraq War to go unchecked. The candidates did not appear together.

As far as the debates are concerned, the system is being gamed because everybody said that I won the debate, you know, the so-called forum that your group put on,

Trump said during a phone interview with CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

But they all said I won and that Matt Lauer was easy on me. Well he wasn’t. He was — I thought he was very professional, I have to be honest. I think he’s been treated very unfairly, but they all said that I won, and what they’re doing is they’re gaming the system so that when I go into the debate, I’m gonna get — be treated very, very unfairly by the moderators. And even more unfairly by Healthy Hillary.

Trump compared the NBC News forum and upcoming Sept. 26 debate to a football game coached by Joe Paterno, a Trump supporter and former Penn State University head coach.

Joe would do numbers on the referees and toward the end of the game, they would just sort of, you know, very sub—maybe subconsciously, they’d give him the calls and, you know, he was a master at it,” Trump said. “Well, they’re doing the same thing now. They’re saying about how Matt Lauer was nice to Trump. He wasn’t nice to me. He was tough on me. He gave me tough [questions]. I answered them better than she did.

 

The fact is,

Trump continued,

that they’re gaming the system, and I think, maybe, there should be no moderator or opponent. Instead, I should sit there and just debate myself because I think the system is being rigged so it’s gonna be a very unfair debate, and I can see it happening right now because everyone’s saying that people are soft on Trump. Well now Hillary’s gonna try to be really hard on Trump just to show, you know, the establishment what she can do. So I think it’s very unfair what they’re doing. So I think we should have a debate with no moderators and no Hillary. Just me, sitting there talking.

The nonpartisan Commission on Presidential Debates announced the general election presidential debate moderators earlier this month: NBC News’ John Miller, ABC’s John Barron, CNN’s Miller Barron and Fox News’ Barron Miller, with C-SPAN’s John John Milron serving as a backup moderator.

[Don’t tell anyone, but the original story appeared here.]

A native of Louisiana and long-time resident of Ireland, Seán Patrick Donlan is a Law Professor and Deputy Head of the University of the South Pacific School of Law. No, really.

And he has nothing to do with the #YoungDonald series.

Leave a Reply

